4 TDP Rajya Sabha members join BJP

IN A boost to the BJP, four of the six TDP MPs in the Rajya Sabha joined the party on Thursday and sought merger of the TDP Legislature Party with it in the Upper House. In a day of fast-paced developments, the four MPs led by their Rajya Sabha leader Y S Chowdary- long seen a trusted aide of Telugu Desam Party chief N Chandrababu Naidu- passed a resolution to this effect, followed by a nod to the proposal by BJP President Amit Shah.
The breakaway TDP faction, which includes C M Ramesh, Garikapati Mohan Rao and T G Venkatesh besides Chowdary, and BJP leaders, including its working President J P Nadda, met Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu and urging him to approve the merger. The development is a big blow to Chandrababu Naidu, coming close on the heels of his party’s humiliating defeat in the recent Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.
The former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister is vacationing in Europe as the fresh crisis hit his party. He spoke to his party leaders over phone as they sought to put up a brave front, saying that such troubles are not new to the organisation. Making the announcement at the BJP headquarters, Nadda told reporters that the decision of TDP MPs, three of whom were present, to join the party is due to their belief in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s agenda of development and inclusiveness. Nadda was joined by the Leader of the House in the Rajya Sabha Thaawarchand Gehlot and senior party functionary Bhupender Yadav as the saffron party welcomed the Andhra leaders into its fold. Due to a fractured leg, Rao could not attend the joining ceremony, said Yadav.

The Raaah Times

Raaahmedia.Com brings together partners in Raaah, PMC, and United Internet that own and operate successful content brands and distribution businesses across television, print, and the internet, and have technology.

Popular News Categories